I’m Not Sure and it’s Awesome

When are you going to grad school? Are you moving out? How’s work? Are you bringing a plus one to that wedding you’re attending…in 2017? What are you doing for the 4th of July?

I don’t know. No clue. Not sure. – Lately my responses to most questions thrown my way have also been instinctual uncertainty. This time last year I was a month post-grad and had a world of opportunity in front of me. A year later, I still feel the same.

In a year I’ve gotten two promotions, almost quit my job, slept all day, stayed up all night, lost 16 pounds, ate my weight in Ralph’s Italian ices -and not the healthy kind, went on dates, went on a testosterone strike, met some new friends, and lost touch with some old ones.

A lot of time time we beat ourselves up on not having things figured out and to have looming uncertainty lying ahead of us. We force ourselves to make to-do lists, have schedules, make plans, and have goals. Some of my most enriching experiences and fondest memories are from completely spontaneous and random events I couldn’t have even planned if I tried. I think going with the flow is a much better used life skill than crossing off tasks on a to-do list.

Many people may say I only feel this way because I have so much uncertainty lying a head of me. Those people who be so wrong. In fact, by embracing uncertainty I have finally figured out so many things that previously eluded me…

1. Tequila doesn’t give me hangovers – but is hard on my wallet
2. Direct deposit is cool – I love waking up with money
3. Data is expensive – maybe you don’t need to scroll Facebook on your walk around town
4. I like talking on the phone. I like hearing people laugh and pause and think versus seeing dots appear and disappear on a screen
5. My friends are awesome and some have jobs and some are in school but we all should be really proud of the people we have become – and not because our parents like to brag about us
6. Falling off horses still sucks and hurts a lot
7. Tell your mom and dad thank you and that you appreciate them – they really never get tired of hearing it
8. You’ll never be certain of what the opposite sex is thinking and why they do the things that they do – just continue to be the person YOU like and the right people will find you and thank god that they did
9. The world continues to be a scary place that can be depressing and unjust – look for the light in every day – even if you need to search a little to find it
10. Chocolate does make you feel good. And the calories are worth it

The list goes on from here. And so does the things I’m still figuring out. I embrace uncertainty as it’s done nothing but lead me in the direction of being so utterly happy. The best part about being happy is that it’s a truly limitless feeling and you can continue to build and build on it as much as you allow yourself to.

So I smile, shrug, say “I don’t know” and laugh because I will continue to have the time of my life figuring it out… Or not 🙂image

Leave a comment